French History

By: Daniel F. Ring
Assistant Professor
Phone: (248) 370-2498
E-mail: ring@oakland.edu


ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Medieval France. (Ref. DC 33.2 .M44 1995)

Encyclopedia of Contemporary French Culture. (Ref. DC 33.7 .E53 1998)
Entries range from short essays to sketches.

Histoire de France. (Ref. DC 38 .R43, 2 vols.)
In French. Chronologically arranged, ancient times to WWI.

Encyclopédie ou Dictionnaire Raisonné des Sciences, des Arts et des Métiers. (Ref. AE 25 .E33)

Europe, 1450-1789. (Ref. D 209 .E97 2004)
Multivolume, a good place to explore a topic.


DICTIONARIES

A Critical Dictionary of the French Revolution. (Ref. DC 148 .D5313 1989)
This book is a good place to begin research. It is arranged by topics such as Events or Actors and then within these topics are essays of several pages.

Historical Dictionary of the French Revolution. (Ref. DC 147 .H57 1982, 2 vol.)
This, too, is a fine book, arranged alphabetically.

Dictionary of the Napoleonic Wars. (Ref. DC 151 .P67 1999)

Dictionary of the Napoleonic Wars. (Ref. DC 147 .C47 1993)

France, 1789-1962. (Ref. DC 35 .C66 1975)

Historical Dictionary of World War II France. (Ref. DC 397 .H58 1998)

Historical Dictionary of the French Fourth and Fifth Republics, 1946-1991. (Ref. DC 410 .H57 1992)

 

COMPANIONS

The Longman Companion to the French Revolution. (Ref. DC 155 .J66 1988)

 

ATLASES

Atlas Historique et Culturel de la France. (Ref. DC 35.5 .B65)

 

SUNDRY

The Regions of France: A Reference Guide to History and Culture. (Ref. DC 33.7 .N63 1996)
For each region this book discusses geography, history, recent politics, population, culture and even recipes.

 

BIBLIOGRAPHIES

Bibliographie Annuelle de L’Histoire de France. (Ref. DC 38 .A1 B5 1953-1973)


ONLINE INDEXES

Historical Abstracts Covers European History,1450-present.

JSTOR Indexes full text articles in history.


INTERNET SITES

Meta Sites

VLIB Histoire
This site is arranged by era and discipline, such as cultural history. It also has a search engine.

Tennessee Bob’s Famous French Links
This site covers every aspect of French culture. Scroll down a bit and you will find several history sites.

French Studies Web: History
This is an outstanding gateway; it covers primary sources, historiography, reference works, libraries and societies.


Encyclopedias

Encyclopedie de Diderot

Encyclopedia of Revolutions of 1848


Resources

History of France
Very strong on biography. By periods and the Napeleonic wars.

Links on the French Revolution

Historical Text Archive
This is a great collection of sources on many topics. But not all the links work.

H-France
This is good for discussions, book reviews and be sure to click the History link, which will take you to many sites from medieval times to the 20th century.

France in World War II

French Medieval History and Culture

Revues.org
Lists several journals and table of contents.

Pointeurs pour l’Histoire Sociale
Links to primary sources, bibliographies and electronic resources.

The French Republican Calendar

Napoleon Series
Contains several sites on Napoleon.

Napoleon.org
In English or French, the purpose of this site is to encourage the study of the 1st and 2nd Empires. Covers new books, discussion forums, etc. Log in required.

Voice of the Shuttle: France
This site is strong on the Revolution and Napoleon.

Yahoo’s Histoire de France
Site for religious, military and economics history. Also, history of regions.


Documents and Primary Sources

History of France: Primary Documents

Pamphlets and Periodicals of the French Revolution of 1848

Textes de Francais Ancien
Must register.

The Siege and Commune of Paris, 1870-1871
This site contains images.

Exploring the French Revolution
Contains images, essays, documents, timelines and glossaries.

J’Accuse

Napoleonic Primary Sources
Includes letters from Napoleon and documents from the Conseil d’Etat and more.

Inventory of a Breton Farmer

Correspondence of Napoleon

Archives Te'le' et Radio


Maps and Atlases

France in the 10th Century

Historical Maps Web Sites

Maps of the Hundred Years War


Bibliographies

A Select Bibliography for the Study of French History, 1500-


Chronologies

Chronology of France

French History Timeline


Biographies

Personnalités

Historical Persons: France

Sundry

What Are Primary Sources?

Why Study History?

Style Manuals

Citing Electronic Information in History Papers

History: Documenting Sources

 


Created on 3/23/04 by Daniel F. Ring, / Last updated on 9/4/08 by Marilyn Jereau
Oakland University

Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426
 

Sitemap - Hours - Location - Suggestions