| By: | Linda Hildebrand Assistant Professor and Coordinator of Archives |
Phone: (248)
370-2483 E-mail: hildebra@oakland.edu |
MUSIC SCORES
Cataloged Scores
Music scores are shelved on the 3rd floor of Kresge Library and are arranged by Library of Congress classification.
Scores and music collections containing scores are listed in the Library Catalog. You can search by composer, title of the musical work, librettist, subject, opus number, song title.
Generally, keyword searching in the Library Catalog works best since it searches contents notes.
For searching techniques see the handout: “Music Searching Tips for the Library Catalog.”
Most scores can be checked out just like books.
The complete works of major composers (large multi-volume sets) may not have contents notes. For these ‘monumental sets’ use the titles below to find individual pieces within a composer’s collected works:
Historical Sets, Collected Editions, and Monuments of Music: a Guide to Their Contents.
Ref. ML 113.H52 1980. Authoritative guide to principal music anthologies.Collected Editions, Historical Series & Sets & Monuments of Music: a Bibliography.
Ref. ML 113.H55 1997.
Uncataloged Scores
A collection of uncataloged scores, mostly vocal music but also some instrumental music and instructional material, is stored in a set of vertical file cabinets on the 3d floor, near the LP sound recordings on the center east wall.
A card file next to the vertical files provides access to the collection by indicating in which drawer and category the item may be found. The card file lists the composers and the individual works and songs as well as special categories such as Christmas music.
Music - Sound recordings
All sound recordings are listed in the Library Catalog.
Generally, keyword searching in the Library Catalog works best since it searches contents notes.
For searching techniques see the handout: “Music Searching Tips for the Library Catalog ”.
Compact discs are shelved in a closed area at the Circulation Desk. No browsing is possible except by using the Library Catalog. CDs are classified using Library of Congress Classification and generally, where possible, the online library catalog information includes a table of contents listing each individual work on the CD.
Compact discs circulate for one week and may be renewed. LPs are shelved on the 3rd floor near KL 326. LPs circulate like books.
LISTENING ROOMS are available on the 3rd floor of Kresge Library in the northeast corner. Keys to the rooms may be checked out at the Circulation Desk on the 2nd floor. The Listening Rooms have CD players, turntables for the LPs and cassette decks.
BOOKS ABOUT MUSIC
All books are listed in the Library Catalog.
Reference books are shelved in the reference collection on the 2nd floor of the library in the M classification.
Circulating books, e.g. ML (history, criticism, biographies of composers and performers) and MT (music instruction), are shelved on the 3rd floor of the library.
BRIEF GUIDE TO MUSIC CLASSIFICATION
Music Scores
| M 2 | Collected Works |
| Instrumental Music | |
| M 6-175 | Solo Instrument |
| M 177-990 | Two or more instruments, including chamber music |
| M 1000-1366 | Orchestral music |
| Secular Music | |
| M 1500-1527 | Dramatic vocal music (operas) |
| M 1627-1998 | Songs |
| Sacred Vocal Music | |
| M 2000-2199 | Masses, orations, etc. |
| M 2018-2101 | Cantatas |
Music Literature
| ML 48-54 | Librettos |
| ML 159 - | History and criticism, including biographies of composers |
| ML 3800 - | Philosophy and physics of music |
Musical Instruction and Study
| MT 40-67 | Composition |
| MT 90-146 | Analytical guides (how to listen to and interpret music compositions |
| MT 170 - | Instrumental techniques |
| MT 820 | Singing and voice culture |
| MT 955 | Production of operas, music in theatres |
Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426