eBill | Webmail | SAIL
 

Communications

By: Janice Tigar-Kramer
Reference Librarian
Phone: (248) 370-2451
E-mail: tigarkra@oakland.edu
Ask A Librarian
Feel free to call, email, chat, or stop by the reference desk if you have questions.


Kresge Library offers a variety of general reference sources in print and electronic formats. This pathfinder serves as a guide to the library's key source in communications and related topics.

 

ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Encyclopedia of Communication and Information, v. 1-3. (Ref. P 87.5 .E53 2001)
This well-written source provides an overview of eight major topics in communications and information science. Includes 280 signed entries with bibliographies and cross-references.

Language and Communication: A Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia. (Ref. P 29 .F47 1998) The author, a cultural anthropologist, offers a broad perspective on language and communications. Covers 126 cultures from five continents. Includes 151 entries, bibliographies and cross-references.

Encyclopedia of Rhetoric and Composition: Communication from Ancient Times to the Information Age (Ref. PN 172 .E53 1996)
This text offers a valuable overview of rhetoric and its role in communications from antiquity to the present. Signed articles include lengthy bibliographies and cross-references. Includes entries for people.

Encyclopedia of Rhetoric. (Ref. PN 172 .E52 2001)
Similar to Encyclopedia of Rhetoric and Composition, this source covers the principles of rhetoric. Extensive bibliographies include primary and secondary sources. Excludes entries for people.

International Encyclopedia of Communications, v. 1-4. (Ref. P 87.5 .I5 1989)
This well-researched source covers all topics in communications, from ancient language to body language to communications technology. Signed entries include bibliographies and cross-references.

Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications, v. 1-4. (Ref. P 87.5 .E532 2003)
This comprehensive source covers a colossal range of topics, including communications, communications technology, cross-cultural communication and censorship-cultural values. Includes 219 signed entries with bibliographies and cross-references. Volumes are arranged thematically.

 

DICTIONARIES

Encyclopedic Dictionary of Semiotics, Media and Communications. (Ref. P 87.5 .D36 2000)
This helpful source covers terms, concepts, people and movements in semiotics, media analysis and communications. Arranged alphabetically; includes cross-references.

A Dictionary of Communications and Media Studies. (Ref. P 87.5 .W38 1989)
This concise source is aimed at communications and media students. Provides generous coverage of communications terminology and theory. Note: many entries have a British slant.

Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics. (Ref. P 29 .C65 1997)
This well-regarded source covers key aspects of linguistic theory and research.

Dictionary of Media Literacy. (Ref. P 91.3 .S527 1997)
This text focuses on terms and ideas in media literacy, or the methods people use to evaluate mass media's messages. Includes key organizations and leaders in the field.

Oxford English Dictionary, v. 1-20. (Ref. PE 1625 .O87 1989 - This renowned source defines more than 615,000 words. Known for its lengthy etymologies (word origins) and valuable cross-references, OED is the definitive dictionary of the English language. Entertaining to browse.


PRINT INDEXES

Communication Abstracts. (Ref. P 87 .C59733)
Includes abstracts of articles, books and reports about communication theory, mass communication, advertising, broadcasting, speech and other relevant topics. Library owns from 1978-1998.

Index to Journals in Communication Studies through 1995. (Ref. 87.5 .I53 1997)
A listing of the tables of contents of 24 major communication journals and includes a subject and author index.

 

ONLINE INDEXES

InfoTrac OneFile
Many full-text articles from a range of scholarly and general interest periodicals. Indexes and provides some full text for approximately 25 communication journals including Communication Studies, Communication Quarterly, Quarterly Journal of Speech and other related journals.

Sociological Abstracts
Citations and abstracts from more than 1,500 journals, as well as conferences, papers and books covering the field of sociology. Covers material from 1963 to the present; abstracts since 1974. Indexes over 30 communication journals, e.g. Communication, Communication Quarterly, Communication Theory and others.

ERIC
Abstracts and some full-text articles from more than 2,000 education journals and documents dating from 1966 to the present. Includes selected entries from Communication Monographs, Communication Research, Communication Education and others.

PsycINFO_1887
Abstracts and some full-text articles from more than 9,900 sources dating from 1887 to the present. Focus is primarily on psychology journals but database includes Communication & Cognition, Communication Reports, Communication Research & Broadcasting and others.

SocialSciAbs
Abstracts and some full text articles from journals in the social sciences. Includes the Journal of Communication, Communication Quarterly.

InfoTrac General Reference Center Gold
Similar to OneFile, many full-text articles from scholarly and general interest periodicals.

ABI/Inform
A business database useful for investigating communication in the workplace. Includes some full text articles.



Created on 4/21/04 by Jan Tigar-Kramer, / Last updated on 2/4/13 by Marilyn Jereau
Oakland University

Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426
 

Check out Kresge Library on Facebook Follow Kresge Library on Twitter Check out the Kresge Library mobile website