Civil Liberties

By: Daniel F. Ring
Assistant Professor
Phone: (248) 370-2498
E-mail: ring@oakland.edu


ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Encyclopedia of the American Constitution. (Ref. KF 4548 .E53 2000)

The Founders’ Constitution. (Ref. KF 4502 .F68 1987)

Constitutional Amendments, 1789 to the Present. (Ref. KF 4557 .C665 2000)

Encyclopedia of Constitutional Amendments, Proposed Amendments, and Amending Issues, 1789-1995. (Ref. KF 4557 .V555 1996)

The Constitution and Its Amendments. (Ref. KF 4557 .C66 1999)

Encyclopedia of African American Civil Rights: From Emancipation to the Present. (Ref. E 185.61 .E54 1992)

Encyclopedia of American Indian Civil Rights. (Ref. KF 8210 .C5 E53 1997)

Encyclopedia of Human Rights. (Ref. JC 571 .E67 1996)

International Encyclopedia of Human Rights. (Ref. JC 571 .M3243 2000)

Encyclopedia of Human Rights Issues Since 1945. (Ref. JC 571 .L2747 1999)

Civil Rights in the United States. (Ref. E 184 .A1 C47 2000)

Encyclopedia of American Civil Rights & Liberties. (Ref KF 4748 .E53 2006)

DICTIONARIES

Historical Dictionary of the Civil Rights Movement. (Ref. E 185.61 .L84 1997)

The Constitutional Law Dictionary. (Ref. KF 4548.5 .C47)

BIOGRAPHY

The Civil Rights Struggle: Leaders in Profile. (Ref. E 185.96 .D38)

American Women Civil Rights Activists. (Ref. JC 599 .U5 H273 1993)

CHRONOLOGIES

My Soul is a Witness: A Chronology of the Civil Rights Era, 1954-1965. (Ref. E 185.61 .C697 2000)

Civil Rights Chronicle: The African American Struggle for Freedom. (Ref. JC 599 .U5 C558 2003)

SUNDRY

Student’s Guide to Landmark Congressional Laws on Civil Rights. (Ref. KF 4749 .P626 2002)

World Human Rights Guide. (Ref. JC 571 .H788 1986)

Civil Rights. (Ref. KF 4743 .8 1970) - Major court decisions, federal legislation, extracts from congressional debates.

The Civil Rights Movement: References and Resources. (Ref. E 185.61 .A1 M8 1993)

International Handbook of Human Rights. (Ref. JC 571 .I587 1987)

A Practical Companion to the Constitution: How the Supreme Court Has Ruled on Issues from Abortion to Zoning. (Ref. KF 4548 .L54 1999)

ONLINE INDEXES

LegalTrac - Good for peer reviewed full text articles.

Index to Legal Periodicals - Indexes scholarly law journals.

Lexis-Nexis - Good for legal research. Documents are full text.

WilsonSelectPlus - Indexes full text articles for a college audience.

SocialSciAbs (Social Sciences Abstracts) - Indexes scholarly articles in the social sciences.

Social Sciences Citation Index Indexes and cites scholarly articles


INTERNET RESOURCES

Gateways

Civil and Political Rights
This is a British site but still important. Contains a tour d'horizon on the topic: full text journals, electronic texts of classics, organizations, government reports and more.

Resources

America Responds to Terrorism

Scroll down to Civil Liberties in Wartime and you will find these links:

  • The Patriot Act: What Is the Proper Balance Between National Security and Individual Rights? (NEW)
  • Wartime and the Bill of Rights: The Korematsu Case
  • Military Tribunals
  • Lincoln and the "Writ of Liberty"
  • The Palmer "Red Raids"
  • A "Clear and Present Danger"
  • The Alien and Sedition Acts: Defining American Freedom (NEW)
  • The Information Revolution: A Hypothetical Case
  • Do We Need a New Constitutional Convention?

People for the American Way

This is a very liberal organization. It has headlines and feature articles and off to the left you will see Defending Constitutional Liberties and Promoting Civil Rights and Equal Rights. Click on these and you will get other resources.

Civil Liberties and Civil Rights on the World Wide Web
No organization on this site but an alpha listing of sites.

You Can’t Say That! The Growing Threat to Civil Liberties from Antidiscrimination Laws.
This site contains excerpts from the author's book. Click on Chapter 7, which deals with public accommodations and the threat to private organizations and here are some of the sites you will find:

  • JUDGE ROBERT BORK
    Biography and articles: www.AEI.org
    Biography and links: en2.Wikipedia.org
    Conversation with Bork: www.UncommonKnowledge.org
    Quotes: www.ConservativeForum.org
  • JUSTICE ARTHUR GOLDBERG
    Manuscript Collection at Radford University: Lib.RUNet.edu
    Abner Mikva, "In Memoriam - Arthur J. Goldberg, The Practitioner": www.SupremeCourtHistory.org
    Biography: www.US-Israel.org
  • JUSTICE WILLIAM O. DOUGLAS
    Biography: www.SupremeCourtHistory.org
    Bibliography: IndyLaw.Indiana.edu
    Biography and other information: www.Oyez.org

COM Library – Civil Liberties & Human Rights
This site has links to organizations, timelines of the civil rights movement and documents.

Google’s Civil Liberties (http://directory.google.com/Top/Society/Law/Organizations/Civil_Liberties/)
Here are some the links you will find:

  • American Civil Liberties Union
  • Censorship & Free Speech
  • Youth Rights

    Related Categories:
  • Regional > North America > United States > Society and Culture > Politics > Issues
  • Science > Social Sciences > Political Science > Comparative Politics > American Government > Civil Liberties
  • Society > Issues > Human Rights and Liberties
  • Society > Issues > Human Rights and Liberties > Advocacy Organizations
  • Society > Law > Organizations > Criminal Defense
  • Society > Issues > Children, Youth and Family > Parents' Rights
  • Society > People > Men > Issues > Fathers' Rights
  • Society > Law > Organizations > Advocacy
  • Society > Issues > Church-State Relations > Pro-Separation

America Responds to Terrorism
Most of these sites deal with the aftermath of 9/11, e.g., military tribunals, national ID cards, and racial profiling at airports.

Internet Law Library: Civil Rights and Civil Liberties
This is an alpha arranged site, international in scope.

Free Speech and the Internet
Has about four sites devoted to the exchange of information on the Internet.

America Stands for Liberty
Organized around topics like airport security, the Patriot Act, National ID.

American Government Resources on the Internet
This site is arranged by amendment and then links sites that support or oppose an issue, such as school prayer. Some of the links don’t work.

Yahoo’s Internet Censorship
This site deals exclusively with Internet censorship.

The Legal Information Institute
This site is from Cornell. Look at the navigation bar at the left as it will lead you to many topics, such as laws in various jurisdictions, court opinions, constitutions and codes, etc. Here are four sources from this site that merit special attention:

Each of these sites consists of an overview, federal statutory decisions, federal laws, federal and state judicial decisions, international conventions, important internet links and more.

First Amendment Center Covers speech,assembly,speech and press.

ORGANIZATIONS

The Internet Public Library’s Civil Rights
This picks up the usual suspects, like the ACLU and Amnesty International.

Human Rights and Civil Liberties Links
This is an alpha list of organizations, some documents too.

Civil Liberties Resources
This site is mostly composed of organizations.

DOCUMENTS

Core Documents of US Democracy

Constitution of the United States

Find Law
Good for full text of Supreme Court decisions back to 1999 and biographical information on justices. The court docket is also here.

 


Created on 9/22/04 by Daniel F. Ring, / Last updated on 9/4/08 by Marilyn Jereau
Oakland University

Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426
 

Sitemap - Hours - Location - Suggestions