A teaching library with an outstanding student-centered information literacy program
Future Students Current Students Faculty & Staff Alumni Visitors Help / Search OAKLAND UNIVERSITY
About OU Academics Research Arts Athletics Library IT Administration Jobs News
Kresge Library - A teaching library with an oustanding student-centered information literacy program
Who has cited my work?

By: Kristine Condic &
Marilyn Jereau

Phone: (248) 370-2469
E-mail: salomon@oakland.edu


A Guide to Cited Reference Searching

There are a number of places to explore when determining who has cited your (or anyone else’s) work. Perhaps this guide will make your search a bit easier.

These databases are available to Oakland University faculty, staff, and students that are currently enrolled. To access these databases from home, log in using your Grizzly ID.

For the purposes of this search, let’s say your name is John T. Smythe. Try many different databases to retrieve the best results.

Sciences

Social Sciences

Humanities


Web of Science – contains the sciences and social sciences collections.

  • Access - Click here OR from http://ww.kl.oakland.edu, go to Express Links and select Web of Science.
  • Content - over 5900 science journals and 1700 social science journals.
  • Date - 1980 to the present date
  • Click
  • Enter If your name is John T. Smythe, enter Smythe J* or Smythe JT under Cited Author.
  • Select or mark your articles, and click , then you’ll see who has cited your work.

 

ScienceDirect

  • Access -Click here OR from http://library.oakland.edu, go to "Find Articles" then "Title" then select "ScienceDirect"
  • Content - over 1700 science, technology, and medical journals from the ScienceDirect collection.
  • You are placed in the Advanced Search Form.
  • Search - If your name is John T. Smythe, search authors(smythe) or any variant of your name including authors(j smythe), authors(j. t. smythe), authors(john smythe), authors(john t. smythe).
  • Then click the SEARCH button.
  • Identify your articles.
  • Click "SummaryPlus" or "Abstract".
  • Find CITED BY located at the right side of the screen and click to see who has cited your work.

 

CiteSeer.IST

  • Access - http://citeseer.ist.psu.edu/
  • Content - " CiteSeer is a scientific literature digital library and search engine that focuses primarily on the literature in computer and information science."
  • Click on "Citations" folder in the light blue box.
  • Enter J T Smythe (or name variations separated by or) and click "Search Citations".
  • Click "Context" to see who has cited your work.

 

Scitation

  • Access - http://scitation.aip.org/
  • Content - "More than one million documents from scholarly journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and other special publications from prestigious scientific societies and technical publishers."
  • Click on the blue "Search" tab found at the top.
  • Enter J T Smythe (or name variations separated by or) and select "Cited Author" from the drop-down box.
  • Identify who has cited your work by clicking the title, then "view references".

 


Institute of Physics (IOP) Journals

  • Access – Click here OR from http://library.oakland.edu, go to “Find Articles” then “E-Journal Collections” at the lower right, scroll down to select “Institute of Physics Electronic Journals”.
  • Content – for citation purposes, only journals to which OU subscribes.
  • Click “Search” found in the dark blue bar at the top of the screen.
  • Search - If your name is John T. Smythe, search smythe and change Abstract/Title to Author.
  • Click the RUN SEARCH button.
  • Identify your articles.
  • Find “Citing Articles” next to “References” at the bottom of the item description.
  • Click "Citing Articles”.
  • Identify those who have cited your work.


MathSciNet

  • Access - Click here OR from http://library.oakland.edu, go to "Find Articles" then "Title" then select "MathSciNet"
  • Select "Authors" from the left side of the screen, then enter Smythe, J*
  • Select match (if more than one) and click on "View All Items."
  • Click on the MR number for the article.
  • Check "Reference Citations" in the center under citation.
  • If cited, a link is provided to the article(s).

 

CINAHL - a nursing database

  • Access - Click here OR from http://library.oakland.edu
  • Click "Express Links" found in the center of the screen.
  • Select EBSCOhost.
  • From the list of databases, select CINAHL Plus with Full Text.
  • Date - 1937 to the present date.
  • Contents - about 560 nursing sources.
  • Click "Cited References" on the green bar across the top.
  • Enter Smythe J or Smythe JT after "Cited Author"
  • Browse results and identify your articles.
  • Click the box to the left of the article title, then click "Find Citing Articles"
  • Your cited references are displayed on the screen.

 

WilsonSelect

  • Access - Click here OR from http://library.oakland.edu
  • Click "Express Links" found in the center of the screen.
  • Select FirstSearch.
  • From Jump to Advanced Search, select WilsonSelectPlus.
  • Date - 1994 to the present date
  • Contents -about 1600 education, science, and humanities periodicals.
  • Enter "Smythe John" or "John Smythe" or " John T. Smythe" and change Keyword to Full text *OR* you could also enter Smythe as a Full text search if your name is unique.
  • Click on the title of an article, then click on the full-text.
  • Use the browser's Find feature to locate your name.

 

JSTOR

  • Access - Click here OR from http://library.oakland.edu
  • Click "Find Articles"
  • Click "Title"
  • Find and click "JSTOR"
  • Contents - an extensive collection of back issues of scholarly journals.
  • Click "Search" from the main JSTOR screen
  • Click "Advanced Search" found to the right of the search box
  • Enter the following on the "All of these words" line : "john smythe"~2 and a-few-words-from-title-of-your-article, so if John wrote an article called "The Rise and Fall of Junk Food", the search would be "john smythe"~2 and "junk food"
  • Results will be listed.
  • Click "page of first match" in gray at the bottom of each item to determine if this author has cited your work.
  • Possible fishing expedition - not for the faint of heart!

 

Google Scholar

  • Access - go to http://scholar.google.com/
  • Indexes - "scholarly articles"
  • Content - those who make their work available to Google search services.
  • Enter - the variant forms of your name: author: "J Smythe " or author: "JT Smythe " or also author: "John T Smythe "
  • Select your articles, note the phrase Cited by , and click there to find who has cited your work.
  • Note that GoogleScholar may not retrieve results that are completely accurate, so double-check to make sure the author has cited your work.

 

PsycInfo

  • Access - Click here OR from http://library.oakland.edu
  • Click "Find Articles" found at the left side of the screen.
  • Select "Databases A to Z".
  • Select P, select PsycINFO.
  • Date - 1887 to the present date; about 1987 for cited references.
  • Contents -over 1700 sources.
  • Enter Smythe or Smythe John* and select AUTHOR from the dropdown box to the right.
  • Find the articles of interest, and look next to the blue "GET IT" link.
  • Look for a link that indicates "Cited by 3". This tells you that three articles have cited this work. Click that link.
  • Browse through the list of references to see who has cited Smythe's article.

 

PsycARTICLES

  • Access - Click here OR from http://library.oakland.edu
  • Click "Find Articles" found at the left side of the screen.
  • Select "Databases A to Z".
  • Select P, select PsycARTICLES.
  • Date - 1985 to the present date.
  • Contents -over 60 psychology journals.
  • Enter Smythe or Smythe John* and select AUTHOR from the dropdown box to the right.
  • Find the articles of interest, and look next to the blue "GET IT" link.
  • Look for a link that indicates "Cited by 3". This tells you that three articles have cited this work. Click that link.
  • Browse through the list of references to see who has cited Smythe's article.

 

ProQuest ABI/Inform

  • Access - Click here OR from http://library.oakland.edu
  • Click "Express Links" found in the center of the screen.
  • Select ABI Inform.
  • Date - 1971 to the present date.
  • Contents -over 1600 sources.
  • Enter FOOT(smythe) and switch drop box at right to "Citation and document text," then click on "Search"
  • Scroll through footnotes for your name (or use browser's "Find" feature).
  • Go through the footnotes to see if your name is there.

 

Sociological Abstracts

  • Access - Click here OR from http://library.oakland.edu
  • Click "Find Articles"
  • Click "Title"
  • Find and click "Sociological Abstracts"
  • Contents include Sociological Abstracts (cited reference searching 2002 - present) and Social Services Abstracts (2004 - present).
  • Click the green tab up top "Advanced Search".
  • Enter Smythe
  • Change the last box in that row to Author.
  • Click Search.
  • Identify your articles.
  • Find Cited by next to View Record at the end of the summary.
  • Click Cited by to determine who has cited your work.

 

Arts and Humanities Citation Index

  • Access - Click here OR from http://library.oakland.edu
  • Click "Express Links" found in the center of the screen.
  • Select FirstSearch.
  • From Jump to Advanced Search, select AHSearch.
  • Date - 1980 to the present date
  • Contents -over 1100 sources.
  • Enter Smythe* and change Keyword to Cited Reference search *OR*
  • Browse by entering Smythe J* and change Keyword to Cited Reference Phrase, then press the browse button located to the right of box.
  • Click on the title of an article, then browse down to the cited reference list.
  • Go through the cited references to see if your name is there.