Chinese History

By: Daniel F. Ring
Assistant Professor
Phone: (248) 370-2498
E-mail: ring@oakland.edu


GUIDES

Chinese History: A Manual. (Ref. DS 735 .W695 2000)
This book will explain the literature of Chinese history.

Contemporary China: A Research Guide. (Ref. DS 706 .A1 B39)


ENCYCLOPEDIAS

The Encyclopedia of the Chinese Overseas. (Ref. DS 732 .E53 1998)

Modern China: An Encyclopedia of History, Culture and Nationalism. (Ref. DS 755.2 .M63 1998)

Modern China: A Guide to a Century of Change. (Ref. DS 774 .H796 2001)

Encyclopedia of China: The Essential Reference to China, Its History and Culture. (Ref. DS 705 .P47 1999)

Encyclopedia of China Today. (Ref. DS 705 .E54 1981)

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of China. (Ref. DS 705 .C35 1991)

Encyclopedia of Contemporary Chinese Culture. (Ref. DS 779.23 .E53 2005)

Modern China: A Guide to a Century of Change. (Ref. DS 774 .H796 2001)

China Today: An Encyclopedia of Life in the People's Republic. (Ref. DS 777.6 .C458 2005)

ATLASES


Cultural Atlas of China. (Ref. DS 721 .B56 1998)

Atlas of China. (Ref. G 2305 .H83 1973)

China : A Provincial Atlas. (Ref. G 2305 .H84 1995)

The Contemporary Atlas of China. (Ref. G 2305 .C986 1988)

An Historical Atlas of China. (Ref. G 2306 .S1 H4 1966)

Peoples Republic of China Administrative Atlas. (Oversize Docs. PrEx 3.10/4: C 44/3)

People's Republic of China--Atlas. Nov. 1971 (Oversize Docs. PrEx 3.10/4: C 44)

 

BIOGRAPHY

Biographic Dictionary of Chinese Communism, 1921-1965. (Ref. DS 778 .A1 K55 1971)

Who’s Who in the People’s Republic of China. (Ref. DS 778 .A1 B33 1987)

Chinese Communist Who’s Who. (Ref. DS 778 .A1 C546)

Who’s Who in Communist China. (Ref. DS 778 .A1 W45)

Biographical Dictionary of Republican China. (Ref. DS 778 .A1 B5; 4 vols. plus an index.)

Chinese Biographical Dictionary. (Ref. DS 734 .G46)

Who’s Who in Modern China (from the Beginning of the Chinese Republic to the End of 1953). (Ref. DS 734 .P4)

Who’s Who in China: Biographies of Chinese Leaders. (Ref. DS 778 .A1 W443 1936)

 

DICTIONARIES

China: A Historical and Cultural Dictionary. (Ref. DS 733 .C58523 1998)

Dictionary of Contemporary Chinese Military History. (Ref. DS 754.15 .W67 1999)

An Ethnohistorical Dictionary of China. (Ref. DS 730 .O47 1998)

Historical Dictionary of Revolutionary China, 1839-1976. (Ref. DS 740.2 H57 1992)

Historical Dictionary of the People’s Republic of China: 1949-1997. (Ref. DS 777.2 .S85 1997)

Dictionary of Chinese History. (Ref. DS 733.D54 1979)

Companion to Chinese History. (Ref. DS 705 .O63 1987)

 

CHRONOLOGY


A Chronology of the People’s Republic of China. (Ref. DS 777.55 .C44567)

Modern China: A Chronology from 1842 to the Present. (Ref. DS 755 .M2 1982)

Chronology of the People’s Republic of China, 1970-1979. (Ref. DS 777.55 .C445669 1986)

Chronicle of the Chinese Emperors. (Ref. DS 735 .P27 1998)

The Rulers of China, 221BC-AD 1949. (Ref. DS 733 .M6)


FACTS AND FIGURES


China Facts & Figures Annual. (Ref. DS 779.15 .C48 1981--)

The Cambridge Handbook of Contemporary China. (Ref. DS 706 .M24 1991)
This also has some biography, bibliography, chronology, etc.

The Chinese Year Book. (Ref. DS 701 .C73 1935-1945)

 

BIBLIOGRAPHIES


Chinese History: A Bibliographic Review. (Ref. DS 735 .A1 H8)

China: An Annotated Bibliography of Bibliographies. (Ref. DS 706 .A1 T87)

Modern Chinese Society: An Analytic Bibliography. (Ref. DS 721 .A1 S5; 3 vols.)

Chinese Studies: A Bibliographic Manual. (Ref. DS 706 .A1 W64)

 

INDEXES

JSTOR - Full-text back files of journals. Be sure to click on “History.”

Project MUSE - Indexes 110 journal in the humanities.

Historical Abstracts - Indexes scholarly articles from 1450.

 

INTERNET RESOURCES


Meta Sites and Gateways

WWW VL: History: China

Internet Guide for China Studies - Encompasses all aspects of China including history.

Asian Studies WWW Virtual Library - Includes over 10,000 internet resources.

Portal to Asian Internet Resources - Covers 25 different subtopics for several Asian countries.


Resources

China: A Country Study - From the Library of Congress.

The World Factbook

Army Area Handbook

Condensed China: Chinese History for Beginners

Associate Sites of the Asian Studies WWW Virtual Library - 21 key resources for Asian studies.

Introduction to Classical Chinese Historiography

The Cultural Revolution as History - Lists books and journal articles on this topic.

Sources on Modern Chinese History - Qing dynasty to PRC.

Chinese Archives

H-Asia - Forum and discussion site; good for book reviews, too.

The Chou

History of China: An Annotated Directory of Internet Resources

John Fairbank Memorial Chinese History Virtual Library - Many sites from Qing dynasty to PRC.

The Gate of Heavenly Peace - About Tiananmen Square massacre.

History of China - Ancient times to the present.

The Nanking Atrocities - This is a master’s thesis.

Chinese History (to Qing Dynasty) - Includes narrative, maps, images, texts.

China Main Page - Includes all aspects of Chinese civilization and history.

Gateway2China

Boxer Rebellion

Chinese Studies WWW Virtual Library - This is a listing of other sources.

Chinese Cultural Studies: Web Sites

A Visual Sourcebook of Chinese Civilization


Biography

Chinese Biographical Database

Personalities - This site picks up about ten people.

Chinese Biographies

 

Chronologies

Chinese Cultural Studies: A Brief Chinese Chronology

Timetable of Chinese History

History Timeline

Chronology of Dynasties and Reign of Emperors

Chinese Dynasties

Chronicle of PRC


Maps and Atlases

Population Density

Topographical

Provinces

Agriculture

Satellite Map

China Maps - This is an extensive collection of maps from the University of Texas.

Geography, Maps and Travel

China Historical GIS

 

Bibliographies

Modern Chinese History: A Basic Bibliography

Chinese Cultural Studies: Bibliographic Guide

Bibliographies on Chinese History and Culture

 

Documents

Texts and Documents: China

Chinese Cultural Studies: Texts

Chinese Classics

Tiananmen Square: The Declassified History

Virtual Museum of the Cultural Revolution

Posters of the Cultural Revolution

STYLE MANUALS

History: Documenting Sources

Citing Electronic Information in History Papers

SUNDRY

Why Study History?

What Are Primary Sources?



Created on 4/27/04 by Daniel F. Ring, / Last updated on 9/4/08 by Marilyn Jereau
Oakland University

Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426
 

Sitemap - Hours - Location - Suggestions