| By: |
Linda Hildebrand Assistant Professor & Archives Coordinator |
Phone: (248)
370-2483 E-mail: hildebra@oakland.edu |
A book is classified (assigned a call number) according to the subject matter it covers. Like many other academic libraries, Kresge Library uses the Library of Congress Classification to group related books together on its shelves. It is also used for periodicals. In fact, the only library materials not in LC call numbers are videos/DVDs and Government Documents, which are shelved by Superintendent of Documents or SUDOCS number.
The LC classification consists of combinations of letters and numbers. The main categories or classes are designated by a single capital letter (P = Language and Literature) and sub-classes by two or more letters (PS = American Literature). Further subdivision is by use of Arabic numbers in ordinary numerical sequence. Class numbers are filed alphabetically, then numerically. For example:
Shelving order of Classification numbers
P |
PA 25 |
PS |
PS 169 |
PS 170 |
These class numbers are usually followed by a "cutter number" which is preceded by a decimal point; sometimes there is a second cutter number as well. Numbers appearing after letters preceded by the decimal point are filed decimally. For example:
Shelving Order of Classifications With Cutter Numbers
| General category | PS | PS | PS | PS | PS | PS |
| Class number | 196 | 196 | 196 | 196 | 198 | 198 |
| Cutter number | .B56 | .B6 | .C15 | .C2 | .A12 | .A2 |
Locations of Books and Other Cataloged Materials
* Books - 3rd floor
* Children's Literature Collection (Bingham) - 2nd floor, south wing
* Current issues of periodicals - 4th floor, center east
* Federal Documents - 1st floor
* Michigan Documents - 2nd floor, south wing
* Oversize Books - 3rd floor, north wing (at end of alphabet)
* Periodicals - 4th floor
* Reference - 2nd floor, south wing
* Reserves - 2nd floor, Circulation Desk
* Scores, Sheet Music - 3rd floor
* Sound Recordings - LPs - 3rd floor; compact discs and tapes
- Circulation Desk
* Spec. Coll. - 1st floor, Archives/Special Collections Room
(by app't. only)
* Spec. Res. - 2nd floor, Circulation Desk
Click here for a map
of Kresge Library.
Summary of Library of Congress Classification
A General works (A), Encyclopedias (AE), Indexes (AI), Almanacs (AY).
B Philosophy (B), Psychology (BF), Religion (BL-BT)
C History-Auxiliary Sciences, Genealogy (CS), Biography (CT)
D History and Topography (excluding American) (D), Great Britain (DA), France (DC), Russia (DK), Asia (DS), Australia (DU)
E America (General and United States) - History and Civilization
F United States (Local) and American (excluding United States)--includes Canada, Central and South America - History and Civilization
G Geography (G), Anthropology (GN), Manners & Customs (GT), Sports (GV)
H Social Sciences (H), Statistics (HA), Economics (HB), Economic Production (HD), Commerce (HF), Business & Finance (HG), Sociology (HM), Family, Marriage (HQ), Criminology (HV), Socialism, Communism (HX)
J Political Science (J), United States (JK), Europe (JN), International (JX)
K Law (K), United States (KF)
L Education (L), History (LA), Theory (LB), Special Aspects (LC)
M Music (M), History & Criticism (ML), Study and Teaching (MT)
N Fine Arts (N), Architecture (NA), Sculpture (NC), Painting (ND)
P Language & Literature (P), Romance Languages (PC), Germanic Languages (PD), English Language (PE), Literary History (PN), English Literature (PR), American Literature (PS), Germanic Literature (PT)
Q Science (Q), Mathematics & Computers (QA), Physics (QC), Chemistry (QD), Natural History (QH), Botany (QK), Zoology (QL), Physiology (QP)
R Medicine (R), Internal Medicine (RC), Pharmacy (RS), Nursing (RT)
S Agriculture
T Technology (T), General Engineering (TA), Mechanical Engineering (TJ), Electrical Engineering (TK), Chemical Technology (TP)
U Military Science
V Naval Science
Z Bibliography and Library Science
Library of Congress Classifications Alphabetically By Subject
Subject |
Call Number
Areas |
Agriculture |
S |
Almanacs |
AY |
Anthropology |
GN |
Archaeology |
CC |
Architecture |
NA |
Art |
N |
Astronomy |
QB |
Biography |
CT |
Botany |
QK |
Business |
HA - HG |
Chemistry |
QD |
Communism |
HX |
Computer Science |
QA |
Criminology |
HV |
Economics |
HB |
Education |
L |
Education, History of |
LA |
Education, Theory of |
LB |
Encyclopedias |
AE |
Engineering, Chemical |
TP |
Engineering, Electrical |
TK |
Engineering, General |
TA |
Engineering, Mechanical |
TJ |
Family and Marriage |
HQ |
Genealogy |
CS |
Geology |
QE |
History |
D - F |
History--Africa |
DT |
History--Asia |
DS |
History--France |
DC |
History--Germany |
DD |
History--Great Britain |
DA |
History--Russia |
DK |
History--South America |
F |
History--United States |
E |
Language |
P |
Language, English |
PE |
Language, Germanic |
PD |
Language, Romance |
PC |
Law |
K |
Law--United States |
KF |
Library Science |
Z |
Literature |
P |
Literature, American |
PS |
Literature, English |
PR |
Literature, French |
PQ |
Literature, German |
PT |
Literature, History |
PN |
Literature, Spanish |
PQ |
Marketing |
HF |
Medicine |
R |
Medicine, Internal |
RC |
Military Science |
U |
Music |
M |
Music--History and criticism |
ML |
Music--Study and teaching |
MT |
Mythology |
BL |
Natural History |
QH |
Naval Science |
V |
Nursing |
RT |
Pharmacy |
RS |
Philosophy |
B |
Physics |
QC |
Physiology |
QP |
Political Science |
J |
Politics--European |
JN |
Politics--International |
JX |
Politics--United States |
JK |
Psychology |
BJ |
Religion |
BL - BT |
Science |
Q |
Social Sciences |
H |
Socialism |
HX |
Sociology |
HM |
Sports |
GV |
Statistics |
HA |
Technology |
T |
Zoology |
QL |
Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426