Baroque Art

By: Daniel F Ring
Assistant Professor
Phone: (248) 370-2498
E-mail: ring@oakland.edu


See the pathfinder Art and Art History for general art and Internet sites. This pathfinder will concentrate on print and Internet sites specific to Baroque Art.


ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Europe 1450 to 1789. (Ref. D 209 .E97 2004) - This is a six-volume set of scholarly entries. V. 1 has articles on "Art" and "Baroque."

Larousse Encyclopedia of Renaissance and Baroque Art. (Ref. N 6350 .H813)


PERIODICAL INDEXES

Art Abstracts

Art and Humanities Citation Index - Use this to see who cited who.

HumanitiesAbs

WilsonSelectPlus - Full text articles for a college audience.

Project Muse - Indexes full text articles in the humanities.

JSTOR - Full text retrospective coverage of about 42 art journals. Use the ADVANCED feature and click on art and art history.

Academic One File - Use this to find peer reviewed journals.


INTERNET SITES FOR BAROQUE ART

Overviews

Grove Art Online - This is a reliable place to begin your research. In the upper right, type "baroque" and you will be led to several sites.

Baroque - Short essay.

Baroque - This site is a lengthy essay on the Baroque in different countries.

Baroque Art and Architecture - From Encarta, a longish essay.

Baroque in Art and Architecture - Short encyclopedia article.

Resources

Baroque Art - This site will get you to a large collection of paintings and artists.

Artists by Movement: The Baroque Era - Good for painters and their work.

Itineraries of Baroque's Art - Baroque art in several Italian cities.

Renaissance and Baroque Art Links

Baroque Art, Baroque Artists: A Web Directory - Good for artists and images.

Baroque Art Stock Photos and Images

Guided Tours - Contains 14 guided tours on Renaissance and Baroque art.

Baroque Art Prints - Arranged by either author or title.

Italian Sculpture 1200-

Renaissance and Baroque Architecture

Art History: Baroque - Good for artists and biography.

Art Images for College Teachers

Images

Camio

"OCLC's Catalog of Art Museum Images Online - is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums . CAMIO highlights the creative output of cultures around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times, and covering the complete range of expressive forms.

CAMIO is licensed for use by students, faculty, and researchers at subscribing institutions. Works of art may be used for educational and research purposes during the term of the subscription, if they are properly credited. Images may not be published or otherwise distributed."

CAMIO includes ...
  • Photographs
  • Prints
  • Sculpture
  • Paintings
  • Decorative Arts and Utilitarian Objects
  • Drawings and Watercolors
  • Costume and Jewelry
  • Textiles
  • Architecture
  • and more ...

Bibliographies

Renaissance/Baroque Art

Writing Resources

Writing Resources for Students

 

 

 


Created on 4/9/07 by Daniel F. Ring, / Last updated on 9/4/08 by Marilyn Jereau
Oakland University

Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426
 

Sitemap - Hours - Location - Suggestions