American Revolution

By: Daniel F. Ring
Assistant Professor
Phone: (248) 370-2498
E-mail: ring@oakland.edu


ENCYCLOPEDIAS

The American Revolution, 1775-1783: An Encyclopedia. (Ref. E 208 .A433 1993) This is the best of the encyclopedias. Two volumes, it's a good place to explore a research topic.

Encyclopedia of the American Revolution. (Ref. E 208 .B68)

The Encyclopedia of Colonial and Revolutionary America. (Ref. E 188 .E63 1990) This is OK for basic information.

The Jeffersonian Cyclopedia: A Comprehensive Collection of the Views of Thomas Jefferson. (Ref. E 332.82 1967)

Encyclopedia of the New American Nation. (Ref E 301 .E53 2006) Covers the years 1754-1829. Three volumes with scholarly articles.

 

DICTIONARIES

Historical Dictionary of the American Revolution. (Ref. E 209 .M36 1999)

Note: The two titles below are scholarly and authoritative; good places to explore a research paper.

George Washington: A Biographical Companion. (Ref. E 312 .G88 2002)

James Madison and the American Nation, 1751-1836: An Encyclopedia. (Ref. E 342 .J36 1994)

 

BIBLIOGRAPHIES

The American Revolution. (Ref. 208 .A1 S49)

Era of the American Revolution: A Bibliography. (Ref. E 208 .A1 E72)

Note: There are other bibliographies in the area so be sure to browse.

 

ATLASES

A Battlefield Atlas of the American Revolution. (Ref. E 230 .S96 1986)

Atlas of the American Revolution. (Ref. G 1201 .S3 N4 1974)

 

PERIODICAL INDEXES

America: History and Life - Indexes scholarly articles.

JSTOR - Backfiles of scholarly articles. Be sure to click on History.

WilsonSelectPlus - Full text articles for a college audience.

 

INTERNET SITES

Meta Sites

WWW-VL Revolutionary Era, 1765-1783 - This is a comprehensive listing of sites.

Resources

The American Revolution: National Discussion of Our Revolutionary Origins - This site will lead you to bibliographies, essays and other resources.

Virtual Marching Tour of the American Revolution - This site focuses on battles.

13 Originals: Founding the American Colonies - Look at the bottom and you will see links for each colony. If you click on them, you will get more state and colony information.

Benjamin Franklin Links on the WWW

Web Resources for Colonial American History - Scroll down a bit.

"The Decisive Day is Come": The Battle of Bunker Hill

Electronic Texts

Essays - These essays cover the breadth of American history but there are a number on the Revolution.

Documents - These cover 1450-2001. Many on the Revolutionary period.

Thomas Jefferson Digital Archive - Includes texts and bibliographies.

Historical Documents: Thomas Paine - Contains The Age of Reason plus other essays.

American Revolution: General Resources - Good for documents like the Stamp Act.

Discussion Sites

Threads - There are about 15 discussion sites on topics like women or Scottish loyalists in the Revolution.

H-Amstdy - Focus is on American studies.

Chronologies

Timeline of the Revolution

The American Revolution - This site has three pages to it.

Chronicle of the Revolution - This site has a little more narrative than the others.


Atlases

American Revolution and Its Era: Maps and Charts

Rare Map Collection: Revolutionary America


SUNDRY

What Are Primary Sources?

Why Study History?


STYLE MANUALS

Citing Electronic Information in History Papers

History: Documenting Sources

 


Created on 7/7/04 by Daniel F. Ring; / Last updated on 9/4/08 by Marilyn Jereau
Oakland University

Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426
 

Sitemap - Hours - Location - Suggestions