African History

By: Daniel F. Ring
Assistant Professor
Phone: (248) 370-2498
E-mail: ring@oakland.edu


For print sources see the pathfinder, African Politics. The Internet sources below for the most part will not duplicate the ones in African Politics.

META SITES

WWW-VL: History: South Africa

WWW VL: Central Catalogue Scroll down to regions and countries.

Internet Resources for African Studies

 

GATEWAYS

History and Cultures of Africa

Africa South of the Sahara - Arranged by country and topic.


COUNTRY OVERVIEWS

Country Studies - Provides book length overviews of countries.

Country Pages - From the African Studies Center.


RESOURCES

African History Resources - This is a collection of various links--no central theme.

Resource Information on Africa - This site is from MSU and contains links to organizations, newspapers, journals, etc.

The Story of Africa - This site is useful for audio links to the BBC program "The Story of Africa."

African Studies: Africa: History

Association for the Study of the Worldwide African Diaspora - This is a vast collection of links.


MAPS

Historical Maps of Africa - This is a very rich collection of various types of sources--maps, films, atlases, etc. Not arranged by type but by alphabet.

16th-20th Century Maps of Africa


TIMELINES

Chronologies - There are chronologies on many topics here.

African Timelines


DISCUSSION FORUMS

H-SAfrica

H-Afrteach - Be sure to look at the related sites on the left as there are more discussion sites on Africa.


SOURCES AND DOCUMENTS

Internet African History Sourcebook - This is the most comprehensive African history collection of sources.

Primary Sources

Historical Text Archive

Sacred Texts of Africa

Historical Documents of the African National Congress

Africa Central Research - This is a searchable database that allows you to search for primary source materials.

World History Archives - Arranged by area, i.e., East Africa takes you to a wide variety of documents including journal citations, speeches, etc.


BIBLIOGRAPHIES

Electronic Journal of Africana Bibliography

AfricaBib - This site consists of two bibliographic databases covering Africana periodical literature (Bibliography of Africana Periodical Literature Database) and African women's literature (African Women's Database). You will also find a comprehensive bibliography on women travelers and explorers to Africa (Women Travelers, Explorers and Missionaries to Africa: 1763-2004: A Comprehensive English Language Bibliography).


ELECTRONIC JOURNALS

African Studies Journals - Gives table of contents for many journals.


STYLE MANUALS

History: Documenting Sources

Turabian Documentation

Citing Electronic Information in History Pages

Footnote/Endnote Citation Form

Online! A Reference Guide to Using Internet Resources

SUNDRY

What Are Primary Sources?

Why Study History?


PERIODICAL INDEXES

Historical Abstracts - Indexes scholarly journal articles.

JSTOR - Indexes back-files of scholarly journal articles. Be sure to click on History or African Studies.

WilsonSelectPlus - Indexes scholarly articles for a college audience.

Project MUSE - Indexes scholarly journal articles in the humanities.


Created on 7/21/04 by Daniel F. Ring / Last updated on 3/10/09 by Marilyn Jereau
Oakland University

Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426
 

Sitemap - Hours - Location - Suggestions