| Future Students | Current Students | Faculty & Staff | Alumni | Visitors | Help / Search | OAKLAND UNIVERSITY |
| About OU | Academics | Research | Arts | Athletics | Library | IT | Administration | Jobs | News |
| By: |
Daniel F. Ring Assistant Professor |
Phone: (248)
370-2498 E-mail: ring@oakland.edu |
Reading and Writing in the Arts. (Ref. N 7425 .A1 G6 1978)
"Not a bibliography of art books in the several areas of art history, but is rather a guide to the books that will lead students to the scholarly material in an area of interest." Its scope includes bibliographies, dictionaries and encyclopedias, periodicals, etc. A nice feature is a chapter on writing a research paper.
BIBLIOGRAPHIES
Art Books; A Basic Bibliography on the Fine Arts. (Ref. N 7425 .A1 L92)
Though dated (1962), this volume is still important because the titles are considered "fundamental" and include out-of-print and out-of-date titles.Arts in America: A Bibliography. (Ref. NX 503 .A1 A1 A77)
Volumes 1, 2, and 3 are arranged by subject, and volume 4 is an index. Entries are arranged by author and have excellent annotations.Fine Arts; A Bibliographic Guide to Basic Reference Works, Histories and Handbooks. (Ref. N 5300 .A1 E47 1990) 3rd ed.
The scope of this book includes reference books, such as bibliographies and encyclopedias, and the art literature of foreign cultures, including non-western. Each citation is critically annotated. Includes author, title and subject index.Guide to the Literature of Art History. (Ref. N 380 .A1 A67)
Arranged by genre, e.g., Photography, and then by country or region. Each citation is nicely annotated, frequently including the contents of books. Includes author-title and subject index.Art Books, 1876-1949 and Art Books, 1950-1979. (Ref. N 85 .A1 R2 & Ref. N 85 .A1 R22) These two books list over 58,000 books by subject, with author and title indexes. The 1950-1979 volume lists museum entries. Information for each entry is identical to a catalog card.
American Painting; A Guide to Information Sources. (Ref. ND 201 .A1 K4)
Scope is limited to American painters. Organized chronologically and then by individual painters. Entries are annotated.
INDEXES
Art Index. (Index Ref. N 1 .A1 A78)
Indexes about 200 journals in the fields of archaeology, architecture, art history, arts and crafts, city planning, fine arts, graphic arts, industrial design; arranged by subject. Indexes book reviews and lists reproductions. Paper copy canceled in 1997. Searchable online. Click on Art Abstracts.Arts & Humanities Citation Index. (Index Ref. PN 1 .A1 A7)
A "multi-disciplinary index to the journal literature of the arts and humanities," AHCI indexes about 900 journals. Its scope includes articles, letters, editorials, notes, meetings, abstracts, discussions and other aspects of the journals. It is divided into 3 parts: 1) Permuterm Subject Index; 2) Source Index; 3) Citation Index. Consult with a reference librarian on how to use this valuable title. Paper copy covers 1977 - 1992. Searchable online. Click on Arts & Humanities Search.Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals. (Ref. NA 1 .A1 C63)
This title is a photographic reproduction of Columbia University Libraries' card catalog. It deals not only with architecture, but also "the design aspects of urban planning," decorative arts, interior decoration, furniture and housing. The first edition is 12 volumes plus 7 supplements. The second edition, thus far, includes 2 supplements.Index to Art Periodicals. (Ref. N 1 .A1 C55)
This 11-volume set is a photographic reproduction of the Ryerson (Chicago) Library's card file. Alphabetically arranged by subject. Does not include material appearing in Art Index.International Repertory of the Literature of Art (RILA). ( Ref. N 1 .R5)
An "abstracting and indexing service for current publications in the history of art," RILA was published until 1989. It is superseded by BHA, listed below. RILA covered post-classical European and post-Colombian American art. Author, subject and journal indexes included.Bibliography of the History of Art: BHA. ( Ref. N 1 .R51)
The successor to RILA (above), BHA "covers the current literature of European art from late Antiquity to the present and American art from the European discoveries to the present.Index to Reproductions of American Paintings. (Ref. ND 205 .S575)
Arranged by artist and subject. A typical citation lists the artist, his/her painting, the institution which owns the painting, and abbreviations for the book where the reproduction can be found.Illustration Index. 3rd - 8th eds. (Ref. N 7525 .I558)
Special emphasis given to costumes, fashion design, and theatrical stage settings. References are also given for geographical entities such as rivers, lakes and oceans and political entities such as countries and states. Excludes ads. Kresge also owns previous editions.
Index to Nineteenth Century American Art Periodicals. (Ref. N 1 .A1 S35 1999)Humanities Abstracts - (Index to journal articles in the humanities)
JSTOR - Full text scholarly articles.
Project MUSE - Indexes 110 full text journals in the humanities.
CATALOGS
Library Catalog of the Metropolitan Museum of Art. (Ref. N 610 .A54)
This set of 25 volumes and 4 supplements is a photographic reproduction of the museum library's card catalog. Volumes 1-23 cover books and periodicals, and volumes 24-25 are sales catalogs. Its scope includes sculpture, ceramics, furniture, numismatics, painting, music costumes, gardens, etc.Dictionary Catalog of the Art and Architecture Division. (Ref. N 5300 .A1 N48)
This 30-volume set is a photographic reproduction of the New York Public Library's dictionary catalog. Alphabetically arranged and current through 1971, its scope "includes painting, drawing, sculpture, and the history and design aspects of architecture and the applied arts from the prehistoric and primitive to the latest art movements."Catalogue of the Harvard University Fine Arts Library. (Ref. N 7425 .A1 H35)
This 15-volume set is a photographic reproduction of the University's Fogg Art Museum and several other of Harvard's libraries. The first 14 volumes are a dictionary catalog with author, subject and added entry cards filed in one alphabet. Volume 15 is an auction sale catalog.
DICTIONARIES & ENCYCLOPEDIAS
The Grove Ecyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture (Ref N 5610 G76 2007) two vols, articles are scholarly. Includes aboit 1000 entries.
The Dictionary of Art. (Ref. N 31 .D5 1996)
At 34 volumes, this is the best "encyclopedia" we have. Provides comprehensive coverage of the history of the visual arts from pre-history to the present.McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Art. (Ref. N 33 .M23)
A 5-volume reference work with 15,000 entries. A great portion of the work includes biographies, but it also covers artistic styles, buildings, museums and art terms. Entries vary from a paragraph to several pages; many are annotated. Here are some more dictionaries of art that I will cite collectively: Yale Dictionary of Art and Artists (Ref. N 33 .L53 2000); Artwords: a Glossary of Contemporary Art Theory (N 71 .P32 1997); The Oxford Dictionary of Art (Ref. N 33 .O9 1997); A Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Art (Ref. N6490 .C5317 1998)
Harper's Encyclopedia of Art. (Ref. N 31 .H3 1937; 2 vols.; additional copy on 3rd floor)
Entries are usually short but typically includes bibliographies. A nice feature of this book is the extensive collection of plates.The Britannica Encyclopedia of American Art. (Ref. N 6505 .B73)
Alphabetically arranged entries vary in length from a paragraph to several pages. Illustrated. Includes glossary and guide to museums and public collections. Covers painting, sculpture, architecture, glass, silver, furniture, printmaking, folk art, photography and handicrafts.Encyclopedia of World Art. (Ref. N 31 .E533; 17 vols.)
The articles are long, scholarly and authoritative. Includes bibliographies. About half of each volume consists of plates. Subject matter covers architecture, sculpture and painting.Encyclopedia of Sculpture. (Ref. NB 198 .E53 2004) Two volumes. Entries are scholarly.
Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography: Themes Depicted in Works of Art. (Ref. N 7560 .E53 1998)
This is a two-volume set of scholarly essays; arranged by topics such as adultery, childbirth.The Oxford Companion to Art. (Ref. N 33 .O9)
Designed as a non-specialist introduction to the fine arts. Scope includes the visual arts; excludes theatre, cinema and dance. There is a bibliography, (p.123). Entries are usually short and cite numbered works in the bibliography.
Dictionary of 20th Century Art. (Ref. N 6490 .M89)
Intended for the reader "who is looking for a summary of the life and work of a famous artist, for the date of a particular work. . . or for the meaning of a specific type of artistic expression. . . ." Most entries are biographical but also lists movements, such as Pop Art.The Thames and Hudson Dictionary of Art & Artists. (Ref. N 33 .T4 1994)
Provides information on the fine arts: painting, sculpture, drawing and prints; and the artists who make these. Includes 2500 entries and 426 illustrations.Art: A Field Guide. (Ref. N 31 .C86 2001)
Provides evaluations of painters, explanations of symbols and definitions of techniques, movements and styles.Oxford Dictionary of Art. (Ref. N 33 .O93 2004)
Terms from MOMA.
Images
"OCLC's Catalog of Art Museum Images Online - is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums . CAMIO highlights the creative output of cultures around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times, and covering the complete range of expressive forms.
CAMIO is licensed for use by students, faculty, and researchers at subscribing institutions. Works of art may be used for educational and research purposes during the term of the subscription, if they are properly credited. Images may not be published or otherwise distributed."
CAMIO includes ...
TERMS
Adeline's Art Dictionary. (Ref. N 33 .A223 1967)
Includes illustrations and a supplement which brings the book up to date. This edition also includes terms from F.W. Fairholt's Dictionary of Terms in Art.Key Art Terms for Beginners. (Ref. N 34 .Y46 1995)
Introduces novices to terms used in art galleries and museums.Dictionary of Art & Artists. (Ref. N 31 .M8 1965)
Includes terms from the visual arts, ceramics and architecture; excludes terms from theatre, cinema and dance.The Pocket Dictionary of Art Terms. (Ref. N 33 .E45 1979)
Written with the "mobile inquirer" in mind. Includes terms from photography, decorative arts, architecture and other genre.Dictionary of Art Terms. (Ref. N 33 .I75 2004)
Oxford Concise Dictionary of Art Terms. (Ref. N 33 .C575 2001)
DIRECTORIES
The American Art Directory. (Ref. N 50 .A54)
Scope includes museums, libraries and associations in the U.S. and Canada; national and regional organizations in U.S. and Canada; art schools (U.S. & Canada) and "Art Information" listing art magazines and art schools abroad.The Official Museum Directory. (Ref. AM 10 .A2 O4)
Alphabetically arranged by state and then by city. Lists personnel, activities, publications, etc. There are sections at the end for personnel, institutions by category and institutions alphabetically arranged.Guide to Art Museums. (Ref. N 510.5 .M5 B4)
Kresge Library owns the Midwest edition. Provides information on addresses, survey of holdings, and dates open.
BIOGRAPHY
Who's Who in Art. 1968-1977 (Ref. N 40 .W6)
This book is "principally concerned with British artists" and includes "only a representative selection of the most outstanding contemporaries." Also lists academies, groups and societies, signatures and monograms, and obituaries.Who's Who in American Art. 1962-1992 (Ref. N 6536 .W5)
"Profiles 10,700 contributors to the visual arts field in the U.S., Canada and Mexico." There is also a Professional Classification Index and a Necrology.
Biographical Dictionary of Artists. (Ref. N 40 .B53 1995)
Covers all major western artists. Lavishly illustratedContemporary Artists. (Ref. N 6490 .C6567 1983)
International in scope. Entries lists a short biography, individual exhibitors and publications by and about the artist.World Artists, 1950-1980 & World Artists, 1980-1990. (Ref. N 6489 .M37 1984 & Ref. N 6489 .W67 1991)
Valuable for their currency and for the long narratives that they provide, entries also list exhibitions, collections and bibliographies for additional reading.International Directory of Exhibiting Artists. 1982/83 (Ref. N6490 .D49)
Lists 9,500 artists, mostly from North America and northern Europe. Includes artistic specialty and exhibitions.Dictionary of American Painters, Sculptors & Engravers. (Ref. N 6536 .F5 1986)
A newly-revised, enlarged and updated edition of Mantle Fielding's original 1926 publication.Dictionary of Contemporary American Artists. 6th edition. (Ref. N 6512 .C854 1994)
Listing of artists including such information as where they studies, with whom, teaching experience and more.North American Women Artists of the Twentieth Century. (Ref. N 6503 .N67 1995)
Includes women artists from about 1960 on who made a "serious professional commitment to the visual arts." Includes 100 illustrations of art works.Lives of the Great Twentieth Century Artists. (Ref. N 6489 .L83 1999)
Arranged by subject, e.g., Cubism, and then by artist, e.g., Picasso. Entries are 3-4 pages.Allgemeines Lexikon der bildenden Kunstler von der Antike bis zur Gegenwart. (Ref. N 40 .T4)
This set is allegedly the most complete dictionary of sculptors, engravers, painters and architects. Entries in German, vary from a half-page to several pages. Includes bibliographies.Dictionnaire Critique et Documentaire des Peintres, Sculpteurs, Dessinateurs et Graveurs de Tous les Temps . . . (Ref. N 40 .B47 1976)
Covers artists from 5th century B.C. to the mid-twentieth century. Includes both Eastern and Western art. Entries vary in length from a few lines to several columns. In French.
Art and Artists in the Twentieth Century. (Ref. N 33 .P75 2000)Artists from Latin American Cultures. (Ref. N 6502.5 .C657 2002)
A to Z of American Women in the Visual Arts. (Ref. N 6505 .K59 2002)
PORTRAITS
A.L.A. Portrait Index. (Ref. N 7620 .A2 1964)
Reprint of 1906 edition, 3 volumes. Indexes 120,000 portraits of 49,000 people. Provides dates of birth and death, and volume and page where the portrait can be found. Excludes portraits in local histories and genealogies.Portrait Register. (Ref. N 7620 .L4)
Lists 8,000 portraits with indications of private or institutional ownership in the U.S. Arranged by subject and painter.Index to Reproductions of American Paintings. (Ref. ND 205 .S575)
Arranged by artist and subject. A typical citation lists the artist, his/her paintings, the institutions which own the paintings, and abbreviations for the books in which the reproductions can be found.
CAREERS
Career Opportunities in Art. (N 6505 .H35 2001)
Lists the career opportunities that a person with a art education might pursue. Each career lists salary, job prospects, work and promotion prospects.The Artist's Resource Handbook. (N 6505 .G72 1994)
Chapter One covers career assistance.
SIGNATURES AND MONOGRAMS
American Artists: Signatures & Monograms, 1890-1989. (Ref. N 45 .C37 1990)
Artists' Monograms and Indiscernible Signatures. (Ref. N 45 .C374 1991)
European Artists: Signatures & Monograms, 1800-1990. (Ref. N 45 .C38 1990)
Dictionary of Signatures & Monograms of American Artists. (Ref. N 45 .F35 1988)
The Classified Directory of Artists' Signatures, Symbols & Monograms. (Ref. N 45 .C36 1976b)
Old Masters: Signatures and Monograms, 1400-born 1800. (Ref. N 45 .C39 1996)
SUNDRY
The Art Lover's Almanac: Serious Trivia for the Novice and the Connoisseur. (Ref. N 31 .H86 2003)
Internet Public Library: Visual Arts.
Covers drawing, painting, photography and sculpture.Yahoo's: Arts is a meta site. Covers:
Top Categories
By RegionAdditional Categories
- Art History
- Art Weblogs
- Artists
- Arts Therapy
- Awards
- Booksellers
- Censorship
- Chats and Forums
- Crafts
- Criticism and Theory
- Cultural Policy
- Cultures and Groups
- Design Arts
- Education
- Employment
- Events
- Humanities
- Institutes
- Museums, Galleries, and Centers
- News and Media
- Organizations
- Performing Arts
- Reference
- Shopping and Services
- Visual Arts
- Web Directories
Mother of All Art and Art History Links Pages.
This another meta site. Some of its links include resourses for visual collections, textual and linguistic resources, image collections, and on-line exhibits.Voice of the Shuttle: Art (Modern and Contemporary)
This is a meta site and covers these areas:• General Art Resources
• Modern and Contemporary Art by Artists and/or Movements
• Art History
• Museums, Galleries, Institutes, & Centers
• Auctions
• Art Theory & Politics
• Design
• Art & Technology
• Net Art
• Image Copyright & Intellectual Property Issues
• Journals
• Academic Departments & Programs
• Course Syllabi & Teaching Resources
• Art TherapySelected Internet Sites in Art and Art History.
This is a meta site. Coverage includes:Online Catalogs, Periodical Indexes, Portals, Organizations, Libraries, Museums, Image Databases, Research Guides, Reference Sources, Jobs, Grants, Electronic Journals, Biographies
Art Sites by Area, Period, Genre
African, African-American, American Asian, Artists' Bks, Body Art, Ceramics, Chicano, Classical, Contemporary, Egyptian, Electronic, European, Islamic, Latin American, Mail Art, Movements, Murals, Native American, Neon Art, Photography, Women ArtistsArchives of American Art
" Since 1954, the Archives has collected roughly 16 million letters, photographs, diaries, sketches, scrapbooks, business records, and other documentation that supports the study of the history of the visual arts in America." Here are some links:
- Collections A-Z
- Oral History Interviews
- Finding Aids
- Special Focus Guides
- Digital Collections
- Search Catalogs
- Recent Acquisitions
- Exhibits
Art History Network.
This site is good for artists and historical eras.Artcyclopedia.
Provides an index to sites that hold images or information relating to 5,000 artists.Art History Resources on the Web
This is a great site for regions, time periods and art galleries.Art History Information Sources.
Use this site for on-line journals, image banks, and art movements.Arts in Victorian Britain
Sites on painting, sculpture, criticism.ArtSource
This is a meta site. Covers the following subjects:
- Architecture Resources
- Art and Architecture Programs
- Art and Architecture Libraries
- Art Journals Online
- Artists's Projects
- Electronic Exhibitions
- Events
- General Resources
- Image Collections
- Museum Information
- New Media
- Organizations
- Vendor Information
- The Virtual Ceramics Exhibit
Looking for Good Art
This is a meta source and one of the best. The organization is not too good. Read closely. There are 3 parts to it. Part 1 is Web Resources and Image Databases. Part 2 is Image Retrieval; Part 3 is Glorious National Collections.Decorative Arts and Material Culture
Covers documents, images, and resources.Art-Related Links
Arranged by culture, i.e., Islamic Art, and place.Mark Harden's Artchive
The archive is arranged by school, such as Impressionism. There are also links to criticisms and galleries.The Varo Registry of Women Artists
Web Gallery of Art
Contains about 14,000 reproductions.World Wide Art Resources
Good for movements and biography.Art Images for College Teachers
WWW Virtual Library: History of Art
This is meta site and covers these topics:If you have a general interest in art history and would like to find images online or learn more about particular artists, the sites below will be of most use to you. (Note specialist suppliers sell books, prints and posters and the online teaching section also includes some material suitable for younger children.)
- Large Image Collections
- A-Z Sites devoted to Artists, Schools, Periods, Themes etc.
- Indexes & Large Collections of Art History Resources
Students of art history should find the sites above useful, but in addition to these, a wide range of more specialised material is available online:
- University Departments
- Art History Discussion Lists
- Libraries
- Art History Organisations
- Reference Sites
- Online Publications
- Research Tools & Directories
- Conferences & Events
- Online Teaching Resources
- Imaging and Digitization
- Interdisciplinary Collections
- Specialist Suppliers
TEXTS
Online Library of Liberty: Art
Thematic Essays Covers a large number of topics in American Art.
Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426